What’s Meant To Be Will Always Find Its Way

With the Leaving Cert almost finished, I’ve met more than a handful of people who weren’t happy with how their exams went. As per usual, the Department of Education seemed set on being absolute gobshites (excuse my French) once again. A lot of people are down in the dumps, worrying that they haven’t gotten their points and will end up doing a course that they don’t particularly want to do. I’m writing this post to reassure, reassure, and reassure once again, that what’s meant to be will always find its way.

When my Leaving Cert finished, I didn’t feel that surge of joy that I thought I’d feel. Instead, I was pissed off. I knew that I hadn’t reached my goal of 440, and had this niggling feeling that I’d hit 425 (I was right). Anyways, I spent my whole summer hoping and praying that Midwifery in UL would drop a few points, and by the time I had eventually stopped wailing after getting my results, it was time to cry some more when I got my offer. Obviously enough, it wasn’t the offer that I wanted. I’d waited up all night to be offered my 8th choice, and I kid you not when I say that I collapsed on my parents’ bedroom floor in floods of tears. I thought that all my hard work had gone down the drain, but now it all makes sense. I was going to repeat, but when I got a phone call to say that I’d gotten a scholarship for writing, I saw it as a sign. If I could get a scholarship for writing, I thought that maybe I could make a career out of it too.

I’ve always had a flair for English. I loved writing, and spent my childhood filling books with stories and poems and songs, it’s always been something that I enjoyed. In fifth year I decided that I wanted to be a journalist, but was put off it by everybody telling me that there’s no jobs for journalists, you have to be a brilliant writer to be a journalist, and there’s no money in it. Instead of going with my heart, I went with my head and decided to pursue a career that was steady, Midwifery. But that wasn’t what life had planned for me, and I was about to find out the hard way. I didn’t even have Journalism down on my CAO form until the very last minute, when I made the best decision of my life in swapping it with Law Plus. There was something in the back of my mind telling me to put it down, and I decided to just go for it.

Back to my results; as if I wasn’t already pissed off enough with them, I’d gotten a C1 in English. I was absolutely raging, I’d never gotten less than a B in the subject. Looking through my paper while sobbing away, I realised that I’d panicked and messed the whole thing up. But I decided to get it rechecked, even though my teacher said that there was a very slim chance that I’d go up a grade. Again, I had this feeling that I needed to do it, so I did. I got Geography rechecked too, and being only one mark off the next grade I was pretty sure that I’d go up. I didn’t, but surprisingly I went up in English. This gave me the B3 requirement that I needed for Journalism, and in week 6 of college I was able to transfer to it from New Media and English (and no, they’re not the same thing, at all).

All these signs and niggling little feelings had been steering me towards the right path in life, even if they had come in some wicked disguises. Being five points off my first choice (and my 2nd-6th all soaring to higher points than the first!), putting Journalism on my CAO form last minute, getting a scholarship, going up a grade in English even though I’d messed up the whole exam, all just little things that were signs of greater things to come. Because I’d believed in myself, and believed that there was a reason behind everything, what seemed like one of the worst things to ever happen to me turned out to be the best.

This time last year, I could have never imagined being where I am today. I thought I’d be a year into my Midwifery degree, but here I am as a student journalist. I’ve had work published in the likes of the Irish Independent and the Irish Sun, I’m the Entertainment Editor of Campus.ie and I’m spending my summer travelling all over the country to review music festivals and interview all the different artists because I’ve been given media passes. I really couldn’t be happier and I’m doing something that I love. So if you’re finished your exams and you’re scared that you 050haven’t got enough points for the course you want, just remember this; what’s meant to be will always find its way. There’s a reason behind everything, having some belief in that as well as believing in yourself will take you very far.

This blog was inspired by this Timehop today!

 

6 thoughts on “What’s Meant To Be Will Always Find Its Way

  1. This was really helpful! I am in the exact same boat right now, I’m hoping for Media Studies in Maynooth but the points are 460 and I know already that I didn’t get enough, I’d be lucky if I scrap the 420 mark, which is really disappointing as some of my best subjects went horribly wrong on the day. Even if I don’t get my first choice, my second and third would still be great. At the end of the day its not necessarily about the degree title but the work you put in and what you gain from it for future employment and life (well thats what I keep telling myself anyway haha) X

  2. Even if you didn’t get 600 points to become a doctor in Ireland… you still have a chance to study Medicine in Poland with MedicalPoland.ie. Dublin Open Day takes place on4th Aug. and Dublin interviews on 14th Aug. in 63 Lwr Gardiner Street.

Leave a Reply

