“I’m scared to get my tongue pierced” – Tongue Piercing FAQ

My tongue is probably the piercing that I get questioned the most about, because it’s so popular amongst teenagers, as well as the fact that it’s so visible on my face. So I decided to compile a list of the FAQ’s for those of you who are also considering getting it done:tongue piercing

  1. How much did it hurt?

Contrary to belief, not a lot. I’ve had 11 piercings and this was definitely the one that I was most apprehensive about getting done, I put it off for a few months before I finally gathered up the courage to do it. What scared me the most was my friend, who has a three-year-old son, telling me “I’d rather relive childbirth than go through the pain of getting my tongue pierced again.” But for me it was a weird experience, I could feel the needle going through my tongue but it wasn’t painful. I’d probably give it a 2/5.

  1. Was it expensive?

Mine cost either €40 or €50 and I got it done in Living Art Tattoo and Piercing Studio, Limerick. It’s a fairly standard price for a tongue piercing, you can get it done for cheaper but I’m glad I went with the higher price because I had no problems with healing.

  1. Could you eat afterwards?

tongue piercing 2I was eating chips an hour after I got my tongue pierced so yes, I could eat afterwards. I was hoping that I wouldn’t be able to so that I might lose a few pounds but no, eating wasn’t a problem for me.

  1. Did it swell up?

A small bit, but as I said, not enough to stop me eating. It did swell up after I decided to drink alcohol two days afterwards though, which was a very bad decision and my tongue was in pain from there on out.

  1. What helps with the pain?

Sucking on ice cubes numbs your tongue a little bit, and anti-inflammatory tablets are a must.

  1. Did you talk funny?

I couldn’t talk at all for the first few hours, I sounded like such an idiot. I had a lisp but it went after like a day when I got used to the bar being in my mouth.

  1. How long does it take to heal?

After three weeks, I went back to my piercer and had the bar changed to a shorter one. By then, it was almost fully healed and the swelling had mostly gone down.tongue piercing 3

  1. Is it weird to eat/kiss?

It was hard to get used to eating with it, but it’s fine now. Kissing however, is something I don’t think I’ll ever get used to with this bar wedged in my tongue. It’s just… weird.

  1. Does it damage your teeth?

As long as you don’t play with it, your teeth will be fine. Actually, I always play with mine and haven’t done any damage yet touch wood. If you’re very worried about damaging your teeth you can use a plastic ball instead of the metal ones, that way if you bite down on it you’ll break the ball instead of your teeth.

  1. Is it easy to hide?

No, my Mum noticed it the day I got home from college. But I have a clear bar that I bought for job interviews and work if necessary, and when I wear it you can’t tell that I have it pierced at all. If you’re looking to get a piercing that you can hide from your parents, I wouldn’t recommend your tongue.

If you’re thinking about getting your tongue pierced but like me, are too chicken to do it and keep putting it off, my advice is to just go for it. It’s worth the pain because it looks so cute afterwards, just try not to be one of those people that sticks out their tongue in every single picture. So not cool.

If you have any more questions, feel free to drop me a message on Facebook, and here are the links to my other piercing FAQ posts:

https://liesandbowties.wordpress.com/2015/01/09/septum-piercing-faq/

https://liesandbowties.wordpress.com/2015/01/01/piercing-faq-nose/

Leave a Reply

