Nose Piercing FAQ

As a girl with quite a few piercings there are questions I get asked on a regular basis, and some people come to me for advice before getting pierced. So piercing by piercing, I’m going to go through some of the reoccurring FAQ’s starting with the extremely popular and very common nose piercing.

Did it hurt getting it pierced?

No, the standard nose piercing for me wasn’t very painful at all. At the very most I’d give it a 3/10, which isn’t a lot considering it was the very first proper piercing I’d gotten (apart from my earlobes). What did hurt was 2 days later when the stud fell out when I was cleaning it and I had to re-pierce it with a needle, not fun.

Can you get your nose pierced with a ring?

You can but most piercers will advise you not to do this. A ring can irritate your healing piercing because it constantly moves, and you’re more likely to mess around with it which will prolong the healing process and can lead to a small and irritating lump on or near your piercing.

How long does it take to heal?

This really depends on a lot of factors, like how well you take care of it, how healthy your diet is, etc. Mine took about 3 months to heal completely but got infected badly when I re-pierced it myself and I had to deal with a giant lump on my nose for a while. Cleaning it with a mixture of 1/2 a teaspoon of sea salt and boiling water will help prevent infection.

Why did you get it pierced?

I got it pierced because I’ve always loved piercings and it was a nice simple one to start off with. Because it was a pretty common one, it was the easiest to convince my parents to let me get

How did you convince your parents to let you get it pierced?

I’d wanted this piercing since I was around 13 and only actually managed to convince my parents when I was 17 and a half. They aren’t really fans of piercings and didn’t want me putting any unnecessary holes in my face, but I think when I was still asking by the age of 17 they’d realised that it was inevitable. Eventually they just gave in and let me get it.

Did you get it numbed before it was pierced?

No, numbing it is pointless. The pain isn’t bad at all, it’s just a pinch and it lasts all of 2 seconds.

Are you worried about the piercing effecting your future job opportunities?

Honestly, no I’m not. The nose piercing is pretty common now-a-days and many employers are becoming more accepting to piercings. I only wear a plain, tiny stud in mine unless I have my nose ring in, and most people don’t even notice it. I have a clear nose retainer that I can put in my piercing incase an employer had a problem with it though.

When will you take it out?

With all my other piercings, I’ll definitely get rid of them at some point. But although extremely annoying and a lot of hassle, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to part ways with my nose piercing. I see it as a part of my face at this point and I think I look weird without it!

If you have any other questions, feel free to leave them in a comment below.

045

One thought on “Nose Piercing FAQ

Leave a Reply

