My Subjects

For my leaving cert, I’m doing seven subjects. Seven methods of torture, seven ways to make me feel like I’m dying inside, however you’d like to describe it. I was doing eight, but I had a bit of a meltdown the last day, which I’ll get to after I’ve had a little rant about each method of torture.

English
English is definitely one of my favourite subjects. I love writing, and I’m also very interested in poetry. Dickinson is my favourite poet on the course and I’d be over the moon if she came up in June! I’ve always loved English, and although it’s not my best subject it’s one that I work very hard on and enjoy. My back-up plan if I don’t get any Midwifery course on my CAO is English, I’d love to go into Journalism. I’m yet to get my mock back (tomorrow, hopefully!) and I’m hoping and praying that I get a B2 in the actual exams.

Irish
Where do I even start with Irish? Hate is not a strong enough word for this subject. I’m just so bad at it! The problem is, I don’t even know where I’m going wrong, my grammar and everything is just a huge mess. Basically I’m learning essays and answers on the stories and poems off by heart and hoping that I have enough information to get me a B3 in June. I’ve been getting grinds since September and I can honestly say I wouldn’t be able to do honours Irish without them, my teacher is just brilliant! I haven’t got this mock back either, and quite frankly, I don’t think I want it back.

Maths
Ohhhhhh God. Maths is by far my worst subject, I can’t get my head around it at all. It’s my only ordinary level subject, yet I still have to put as much effort into it as I do with any of my higher level subjects just to pass the damn thing, which is such a pain when I won’t be using it for points. All I want is to pass it in June, and I was so happy with my D2 in the mocks considering the high fail rates! Fingers crossed it’ll go just as well in the exams.

French
I don’t even know how I feel about French to be honest. I love the subject, but I just seem to be very bad at foreign languages. I had absolute goons of teachers for second and third year, which didn’t help matters at all. I was really surprised with my mock result. I got a C1, which is also my aim for my actual leaving cert! I’ve been working extremely hard for French, and I guess it’s paying off, I’m just afraid that I won’t do so well in June because there were a couple of hints dropped in relation to the paper. You know the drill, “Now make sure ye pay special attention to this topic!”

Biology
I really like Biology. I find it interesting, especially the chapters that include the likes of pregnancy (I think that’s the only part I’ll ever get full marks on!) and all things midwifey. My only problem with biology is that I missed a lot of time off school last year so I missed a lot of the course, but I’ve been working hard and catching up on it all this year and so far so good. It’s also one of those subjects that’s pretty easy to predict, and I’m using my predictions to focus on the more important chapters. I got a C2 in the mock and I’m aiming for a B3 in June!

Home Ec
I love Home Ec! I find it so easy to learn and a lot of it is common sense. The fact that you can choose to leave out certain chapters such as consumer studies is also pretty handy, giving you more time to focus on other chapters. This is by far the easiest subject to predict, and I was bang on with the mock predictions. I got a B3 in the mocks, and I’m aiming for a B1 in June. This is the subject I praise myself for choosing!

Geography
I do like Geography a lot, but there’s quite a shit load to learn. Contrary to belief, Geography is not an easy subject. I want an A2 in it, and I figured out that I have to learn 78 essays by June for that to be possible. Yep, 78. I’m almost half way through and I don’t see it as a daunting task really because I like the subject, but for somebody who struggles to learn the answers this would be hell. The Exam Skills Geography book has pretty much been my savior, my bible, whatevs trevs. If I get my A2, that will definitely be why!

LCVP
If any of you follow my leaving cert account on Twitter, you’ll know that I despised of LCVP. Well, I had my portfolio finished, when the teachers decided to spring it up on us that our interviews were in a week. A WEEK! As you can probably imagine, my anxiety was through the roof because of this, so I decided to drop LCVP. Best thing I ever done, two more study classes a week to get those geography essays learned in!

If I could pick my subjects again, I do think I’d change it around a bit. I wouldn’t have done LCVP from the start, and would have done construction or engineering instead of French. I don’t even need it for midwifery, and kick myself every day for picking it!

Leave a Reply

